Kale Lasagna Diavolo Recipe

Voila!

This year I’m vowing to try more of the recipes from my Vegetarian Times magazine, so here’s the first go.  Wow, this was really great – and it’s super low-cal and nutrient-dense.  Just check out those amazing stats at the end!

Lacinto Kale

I used lacinto, or dinosaur kale for this, and because the scale in the store was off, I had to add some frozen spinach as well.  That’s right, not one, but two super-healthy leafy greens in this thing.

Except for the addition of some frozen spinach, I followed the recipe to the point, though I was a little wary of the fat-free ricotta cheese when I opened up the package – it had so little taste!  Honestly, it was like a dull white blob of nothing.  Fortunately, blending in the goat cheese added the zest it needed.   Whew!

Next time I’m going to double, or triple the recipe and put it in a larger dish so it lasts longer.  This was great to make on the weekend and eat throughout the week.  I can’t say how great it was to have this ready to go after a day (or 3) in the snow.  Baby, it’s cold outside!

Snowball Fight!

Enjoy!

Ingredients: (makes 8 servings)

1 tsp olive oil (plus more for oiling pan)

8 oz bunch kale, stems removed  (I had 4 kale & 4 spinach)

Remove the Stems

15 oz package fat-free ricotta cheese

4 oz chevre or soft goat cheese, softened

2 cloves garlic (I used more – can’t help myself)

2 cups prepared tomato puree

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

6 lasagna noodles, cooked and drained, or 6 no-cook lasagna noodles

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

1.  Preheat oven to 400.  Coat 8-inch (see how small it is??) square baking pan with oil

2. Cook kale in large pot of boiling salted water 2 minutes.

Steamy Boiling Kale

Drain, rinse under cold water until cool enough to handle.  Thoroughly wring it out, then chop.  Season with salt & pepper if you want – I didn’t.

Chopped Kale

3.  Mash together ricotta and chevre in bowl & set aside

4.  Heat oil in pan over med-low heat.  Add garlic & cook about 15 seconds, or until fragrant.  Add tomato puree and pepper flakes; simmer 5 minutes or until thickened.

Mmmm...Garlic!

5. Spread 1/4 cup sauce in prepared baking pan.   Place 2 lasagna noodles on top of sauce.  Top with half of cheese mixture, half of kale (or kale/spinach) mixture, and 1/3 cup sauce.  Top with 2 more noodles, remaining cheese and remaining kale/spinach mixture.  Top with last two lasagna noodles and cover with the rest of the sauce.  Sprinkle with Parmesan, and bake 40 minutes, or until cheese has melted and lasagna is bubbly.  ENJOY!

First Layer of Kale/Spinach & Cheese

This makes me want to find some prettier baking dishes!

Ready for the oven!

Estimated Nutritional Data (with 2 cloves garlic and  unsalted tomato puree. Values will also vary according to the pasta you use.  I used organic 100% duram semolina noodles from bionature)

nutrition facts

Mmmm...

18 Comments

Filed under Vegetarian

18 responses to “Kale Lasagna Diavolo Recipe

  1. Bookmarked! Thank you for sharing this. It really IS a beautiful photo!

  2. lee probst

    Wowsa!! That looks devine… if your pictures look good, cant imagine what it’s like in real life:) BUT- did the kids eat it? xoxo

    • To be honest, we didn’t give them a chance – we liked it that much. However, I think the 5 year-old would like it. The 10 year old, however, refuses to try lasagna of any kind. She only likes “regular” noodles with sauce; lasagna, tortellini, all these “strange” things, especially when mixed together, are out! If H & H like lasagna, they might like it! Give it a shot and let me know. If they don’t, that just means more for you; you’ll have 4-8 meals all ready to eat, or you could freeze them in singles for a quick meal when you’re rushed. So there ya go. xo :0)

  3. Pam

    Great! Love the vitamin C we can get from Kale.

  4. shibes

    I just made this (it’s in the oven), and cannot wait to eat it! Reading your post is getting me excited. 😉 Just a heads up though, the recipe calls for 2 cups of tomato puree or sauce, not paste. 2 cups of tomato paste would be disastrous. I used Trader Joe’s organic tomato sauce (canned), which seemed perfect.

    • THANK YOU!! I didn’t realize I’d written paste…it was puree – I fixed it thanks to you! Eww…that would have been yuck. Let me know how it turns out!

      • shibes

        Oh, it was divine! I don’t see a reason to ever make full fat, mozzarella laden lasagna again. I kept thinking as I was making it, doesn’t this need more seasoning, more salt? But nope, it was spot on. 🙂

  5. I thought the same thing – especially when I tasted the fat-free ricotta, and I didn’t add salt or pepper – it didn’t need it. I’m on my third VT recipe for this month – will post one later this week and another the next, but this one is my favorite so far! Thanks for letting me know how it turned out. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Back in the Saddle « Moderate Mountain Mama

  7. Kimmie

    Delicious! Made it tonight. Recipe worked like a dream. With the extra kale (bought it as a bundle), I made Kale Chips. Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Hanging In…One Week to Go | Moderate Mountain Mama

  9. nm

    I wanna try this tomorrow, it looks so delicious. I’m not really a cook, might be a dumb question, but do you think I could get this ready in the morning and then just bake it before we eat?

    • Definitely! Just make sure you’re either using a dish that can go directly from fridge-to-oven OR take it out of the fridge about 30 minutes before you put it in the oven so it can reach room temp before going into a hot oven. Please let me know how it works out. :0)

Leave a Reply

